Happy New You! What? Don’t Give Up Yet!

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Ask The Guyatitian, Interviews, Videos
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not much of a resolution type of guy but I do think the process of making them is fun – as long as you don’t take them too seriously. Apparently, the rest of America has caught on to this too and its predicted that in another week or so, many “resolutions” made will no longer be taken seriously by their makers either. Unfortunately, broken resolutions are often followed by feelings of remorse, failure and dismay.

I wanted to share a few informative and motivational videos with you that may help either get back on track with your new efforts or keep you on track if you haven’t thrown in the towel yet!

The first video was made with my friends from the International Food Information Council. It’s all about helpful tips for weight management – from goal setting to choosing the best optimal foods for middle management.

The second video is actually a Livestream event that was recorded on January 5th which featured Lisa Lillien (aka Hungry Girl), Andrea Metcalf national fitness celebrity and author of the new book Naked Fitness, Douglas “Duffy” McKay, N.D. Vice President, Scientific & Regulatory Affairs for the Life Supplemented campaign, and yours truly. It was entitled the Power Hour of Wellness where we discussed the benefits of a healthy lifestyle that includes diet, exercise and appropriate use of dietary supplements. There were lots of great “resolution” tips given that may be of help to you on your new path to greater wellness. Good luck and don’t forget, you can always seek guidance here if you are struggling. And if you are being successful, I’d love to hear your story, too!!

Powerhour of Wellness

Here’s some coolio photos from the Powerhour of Wellness shoot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy and Healthy New Year to everyone!

The Guyatitian

Comments
  1. Gina says:

    Hi Dave!
    Thanks for the weight/health management information/inspiriation. After yet another holiday season I find myself like that guy in your video crying and yelling at my scale. On top of that my Gyn has me on a new HRT to guide me gently into the next phase of life & feeling bloated from it (we’ve discovered that I get too moody/crazy without it right now). So here I am 6 pounds heavier than I want to be and I’d like to lose it all in 30 minutes please! I know after years of Weight Watchers that the journey to weight loss requires patience and planning and “if it’s to be it’s up to me”. But it always takes a little while for the reset button to kick in. Maturing phases of life (aka getting old) make it more challenging every year. Thanks to your daily tweets and healthy posts and my beloved “Hungry Girl” who I can’t wait to see on TV this Saturday, I just have to breathe, move, listen, drink water and make smart choices like I have many times before. So if you would, Dave keep it coming!!
    With much thanks and appreciation, I am a devoted fan to the “Guy-A-Tician”,
    Gina Pelloni (going for a looooong walk now!)

    • guyatitian says:

      Hi Gina:

      I’m sure you have explored all of the options with your doc. Give it a month to see if your body adjusts. Sometimes that’s exactly what needs to occur and sometimes it may mean taking a look at alternatives. It might not be a bad idea for you to keep food records for a week or so and have them analyzed just to make sure your calories, fiber, protein, and sodium are in check. Lots of great on-line programs that can do that for you – let me know if you need any guidance there. Happy New Year.

      Your fave Guyatitian!

      • Gina Pelloni says:

        Thanks Dave!
        I think I see some light at the end of the tunnel! The bloating seems to be quieting down and I have a bit of the flu which sounds like a bad thing, but for me it just means I don’t have much of an appetite. I have my weight watchers trackers close by and will be going to a meeting to get the details of their new points plus program so I’ll be able to follow it correctly. I’ve been a lifetime member since 1993 and I was a leader for a while. I have the knowledge, I just have to put it into action. Sometimes I feel like a kid with ADD, I get distracted from my healthy ways when the holidays roll around and it just takes me a little time to get it all back again. I know lots of folks who would kill to only have 5 pounds to lose (I’ve lost 1 LB already) but they’re my five pounds and I want them gone!
        I’m going to be visiting family next month and it’s my cousin’s b-day, I would like to give her one of your books. Of course I’m partial to 101 Optimal Life Foods, do you prefer one over the other?
        Thanks so much for your reply, I really appreciate it.
        Have a great day!
        Best,
        Gina

      • guyatitian says:

        Jusyt say “no” to bloating! Sorry about the flu bug – lots of upper respiratory stuff flying around, too! Bottomline is to take the best care of yourself.

        Weight Watchers is truly a great program. And I’m thrilled that they have come around and acknowledge that all “points” aren’t created equal. 22 points of candy just isn’t as healthy as 22 points of a little candy and lots of veggies, fruits, whole grains, lean proteins, dairy or substitute, nuts and seeds. Don’t know why I put candy first – maybe to make a point about that its more important to focus on what to add in than to worry about what to eliminate. Agree?

        Lastly Gina, know that success is not just measured on the scale. Do you like what you see in the mirror? Do you like the way you feel? Someone once said, “Nothing tastes as good as good health feels.” There’s a local restaurant that serves an amazing pecan pie that comes pretty close though. Ha!

        Of course I love both books. If she has health challanges, definately give her 101 Optimal. If she wants to experiment with new healthy foods or falls into the category that I’m in – “Food Geek” – she will love 101 Foods That Could Save Your Life. If you are really wrestling with the decision, give her both!!

        Peace and wellness be with you,
        The Guy-a-titian

  2. New years resolutions have always been a downer in my world. I have stopped making them over the years, and instead make goals throughout the year. Seems to work better, and I always work harder to get through them.

    Great ideas to avoid giving up! I know I’ve been one of those quitters in the past, but now I can’t be a quitter, since I don’t make a resolution.

  3. Yes it is strange how many people make these resolutions only to quit them within a matter of days.

  4. Wade Balsdon says:

    I think new years resolutions are hard to keep as there is too much pressure and the expectations are higher than what people are able to handle. It is much better to make steady small improvements each day. As the Japanese people say CANI- constant and never ending improvement.

  5. Gina Pelloni says:

    Hi Dave!
    Sounds like you had a fun time in Ireland. Just wanted to let you know that I did give BOTH of your books to my cousin for her birthday and now she’s the envy of the Orlando branch of my family. She’s reading and cooking up your recipes as we speak!
    Glad to have you back in the Twitterverse and I look forward to your healthy smackdown tweets as always.
    Stay funny.
    Best,
    Gina

Leave a Reply

