Eating My Way Through Florence

Posted: February 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

“Mangia, mangia!” Ohhh boy… these could be “troubled waters” for me but I’m managing to hold my own in a city that offers AMAZING food. But luckily for me, the company that I keep on this trip to the old company doesn’t turn a blind-eye to overeating. And as I listen to the challenges of the American diet at the conference I am attending, I am learning that we can all take a lesson from a traditional Tuscan eating-style which includes flavorable yet satiating foods served on smaller plates.

I’m pressed for time this morning as I’m off to hear from more great health experts and get to visit a local farm where “eating local” is a way of life.

I want to share a few pics with you of Florence and some of the amazing food I have been eating…so far I still fit in my pants! Thank goodness for LOTS of walking (mainly from getting lost!).

I promise to come back and let you know a little more about some of these amazing dishes and also share some insight from the conference along with some exclusive interviews with top food influencers that are joining me here in Florence. Enjoy!

Ciao and Chow!

Comments
  1. looking forward to hearing about what you’re learning from the conference. enjoy the yummy food! are you finding dave that the tuscan eating style includes “real” food, from scratch, from the farm food.

  2. Susan Smid says:

    Dave-I’m so jealous as I look at these photos. I love Florence and the way they eat there. Having a cappuccino as I read about your trip. Enjoy!

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by davidgrotto: Eating My Way Through Florence: http://wp.me/pNPB5-2h

  4. Ah, This is perfect! Clears up
    some contradictions I’ve been hearing.

  5. chandra says:

    Go to Trattoria ZaZa in the Mercato Centrale and order the Rigatoni alla Sorrentina and Il Gato e La Volpe for the best balsamic ever!

Leave a Reply

